Conference of Presidents Commends Countries Refusing to Participate in Durban IV

New York, NY

. . . Dianne Lob, Chair, William Daroff, CEO, and Malcolm Hoenlein, Vice Chair of the Conference of Presidents of Major American Jewish Organizations, issued the following statement:

"We commend the twenty countries that are refusing to participate in the September 22 commemoration of the 20th anniversary of the infamous UN World Conference on Racism in Durban, South Africa, which openly embraced antisemitism and anti-Israel extremism.

We salute Australia, Austria, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, and the United Kingdom, which join the United States and Israel in declining to participate in the celebratory events that will occur in New York this week. These governments are rightfully rejecting the despicable hatred that was uniquely leveled against the Jewish State and the Jewish people twenty years ago.

We encourage other nations to join this growing coalition in continuing to fight racism, bigotry, and antisemitism, while rejecting and not participating in such odious proceedings.”


The Conference of Presidents is the central coordinating body representing 50 national Jewish organizations on issues of national and international concern

Support the Conference of Presidents Fund

Every day, the Conference of Presidents Fund works publicly and behind the scenes addressing vital concerns with US and world leaders, key opinion molders and the public about Israel's security and vitality, threats posed by a nuclear Iran, global terrorism, anti-Semitism and the delegitimization campaign, making a critical difference at home and abroad.